Child Abuse and Neglect: Implications for the Dental Professional

Introduction

Introduction

This continuing education course will provide information on the various types of child abuse and neglect; describe its victims and perpetrators; and outline the dental professionals’ responsibilities in the recognition, reporting, treatment, and prevention of such cases.

Dental Students:  This is part two of a two-part continuing education series.  The first part is Dr. Amos Deinard’s “Intimate Partner Violence and Elder Maltreatment” course.  For students taking these courses, both courses should be completed.  As healthcare providers, you are obligated to understand these topics and report, as appropriate.

Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement

  • The authors report no conflicts of interest associated with this course.

Disclaimer: Participants must always be aware of the hazards of using limited knowledge in integrating new techniques or procedures into their practice.  Only sound evidence-based dentistry should be used in patient therapy.

Note: Registration is required to take test.

Note to State of Pennsylvania dental professionals: This course is not approved for Pennsylvania’s Department of Public Welfare Act 31.  Click here for a list of Act 31 Child Abuse Recognition and Reporting CE providers.

Educators only! Use this feature to create assignments for your students.

SUBMISSION INFORMATION

Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) Submission

To have your "proof of completion" information automatically submitted to the AGD, make sure to add your AGD membership number in the field provided on the Share Your Test Score page. Allow at least 30 days for your credit transfer to appear in your AGD account.

Florida CE Broker

In order for your "proof of completion" information to be automatically submitted to Florida CE Broker, add your Florida License number in the field provided on the "Share Your Test Score" page. If you are licensed in multiple states, please enter just your Florida License number. Allow at least 30 days for your credit transfer to appear in your account.

For accurate submissions into the Florida CE Broker system, dentists needs to have a DN in front of their license number and hygienists need to have a DH in front of their license number. The Florida CE Broker System does not accept "0's" in front of the license number.

Louisiana CE Broker

In order for your "proof of completion" information to be automatically submitted to Louisiana CE Broker, add your Louisiana License number in the field provided on the "Share Your Test Score" page. If you are licensed in multiple states, please enter just your Louisiana License number. Allow at least 30 days for your credit transfer to appear in your account.

For accurate submissions into the Louisiana CE Broker system, dentists needs to have a D in front of their license number and hygienists need to have an H in front of their license number. The Louisiana CE Broker System does not accept "0's" in front of the license number.

RELATED COURSES